Logo EASP European Association of Social Psychology
To promote European excellence in social psychology
Logo EAEAP  
Activities: Medals and Awards
Own activities
Joint activities

General information

It has been a long tradition of the EASP to honour members who make an outstanding contribution to the discipline. Every three years, on the occasion of the General Meeting, one member receives the Tajfel Medal and is invited to deliver the Henri Tajfel Lecture. This recognizes the contribution of a senior researcher to the field of social psychology over the course of their lifetime.

In addition, three Jos Jaspars Medals are awarded to young scholars and three Lewin Medals are presented to mid-career scientists who have made outstanding research contributions. Finally, three Codol Medals recognize people who have made outstanding service contribution of members of the Association and who have significantly advanced the cause of social psychology in Europe.

The medals are designed and struck by the renowned medal-makers, Alexander Kirkwood in Edinburgh. The Tajfel medal is cast in silver; the Jaspars, Lewin and Codol medals are cast in bronze.

Tajfel Medal


Please click here to view the powerpoint-presentation of the 2014 awards ceremony with photos of the Award Winners and the Award Committees. The presentation of the 2011 awards is available here.


The editorial team of EJSP awards an annual prize to the best paper published in EJSP in the preceding year which has been first-authored by a researcher who has received their doctoral degree within the previous three years.

EJSP early career best Ms Award


Last update: July 16, 2014