service navigation

EASP – European Association of Social Psychology

Honours and Awards

It is a tradition of the EASP to honour members who make an outstanding contribution to the discipline. Every three years, on the occasion of the General Meeting, one member receives the Lifetime Achievement Award and is invited to give a lecture. This award recognises the contribution of a senior researcher to the field of social psychology over the course of their career.

The Association also presents the Theory-Innovation Award to author(s) of an outstanding theoretical contribution to the field.

In addition, three Early-Career Awards are given to outstanding scholars at the beginning of their careers, and three Mid-Career Awards are presented to mid-career scientists who have made outstanding research contributions.

A further award is made to an individual who has made an Outstanding Contribution to European Personality and Social Psychology. Finally, the Association presents an award for Outstanding Service to the Field of Social Psychology.

More information about the specific awards and the selection procedures are as follows:

Please note that the EASP awards were renamed in 2020. New awards will therefore be presented from the 2023 General Meeting onwards.

The EASP is committed to promoting and supporting all types of diversity—for example, gender, sexual orientation, geographic, thematic and methodological—see the EASP diversity statement: Diversity will be considered for all types of awards.

Information about previous awards and awardees can be found here:

Serge Moscovici Medal

Henri Tajfel Medal

Jos Jaspars Medal

Kurt Lewin Medal

Jean-Paul Codol Medal

EJSP Early Career Best Manuscript Award

The editorial team of the EJSP awards an annual prize to the best paper published in EJSP in the preceding year which has been first-authored by a researcher who has received their doctoral degree within the previous three years.

Past Award Presentations (Medals)

Available for download below are past awards ceremony presentations (held during the EASP General Meeting every three years), which include photos of award winners and the award committees.